ACTION ALERT | Bill C-311 | Act Now

On April 1, Members of Parliament came together to support Bill C-311image0011, the Climate Change Accountability Act. The bill passed second reading, with 141 votes in favour and 128 against. Sierra Club Canada congratulates the Liberal, NDP and Bloc Québécois MPs who voted for the bill. Many thanks to everyone who contacted MPs.

If Bill C-311 passes third reading and it is approved by the Senate, it will commit Canada to firm targets for reducing emissions of greenhouse gases. The bill incorporates recommendations of the Nobel Prize-winning Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).

The IPCC is urging developed countries to reduce emissions by at least 25% below 1990 levels by 2020, and at least 80% by the year 2050. These reductions are needed to avoid the most dangerous impacts of climate change.


We need your help, to ensure that the Climate Change Accountability Act becomes law.

Sign an online letterimage0011 addressed to members of the Environment and Sustainable Development committeeimage0011 and leaders of the political parties. Urge them to pass Bill C-311 as soon as possible, to ensure that Canada does its fair share to tackle the climate crisis.

– Please contact Members of Parliamentimage0011. Thank them if they voted in favour of Bill C-311, and urge them to support the bill when it reaches third reading. For a record of the vote, see the list below.

– Even better, you can visit your MP. You can call your MP’s constituency office, to set up a meeting. You can ask your MP to support Bill C-311 to take action on climate change, and sign the KYOTOplus politician’s pledgeimage0011. Please contact, to let him know how it goes.

– You can download a PDF flyer.

Download a Facebook profile image to show your support.

Put a banner on your website or blog.

Second Reading, April 1, 2009

Allen (Welland), André, Angus, Asselin, Atamanenko, Bachand, Bagnell, Bains, Beaudin, Bélanger, Bellavance, Bevilacqua, Bevington, Bigras, Black, Bonsant, Bouchard, Bourgeois, Brunelle, Cannis, Cardin, Carrier, Charlton, Chow, Christopherson, Coady, Coderre, Comartin, Cotler, Crête, Crombie, Crowder, Cullen, Cuzner, D’Amours, Davies (Vancouver Kingsway), Davies (Vancouver East), DeBellefeuille, Demers, Deschamps, Desnoyers, Dewar, Dhaliwal, Dhalla, Dion, Dorion, Dosanjh, Dryden, Duceppe, Dufour, Duncan (Etobicoke North), Duncan (Edmonton—Strathcona), Easter, Eyking, Faille, Folco, Foote, Fry, Gagnon, Garneau, Gaudet, Godin, Goodale, Gravelle, Guarnieri, Guay, Guimond (Rimouski-Neigette—Témiscouata—Les Basques), Guimond (Montmorency—Charlevoix—Haute-Côte-Nord), Hall Findlay, Harris (St. John’s East), Holland, Hughes, Hyer, Jennings, Julian, Kennedy, Laforest, Laframboise, Lavallée, Layton, Lee, Lemay, Leslie, Malhi, Malo, Maloway, Marston, Martin (Esquimalt—Juan de Fuca), Martin (Winnipeg Centre), Masse, Mathyssen, McCallum, McGuinty, McKay (Scarborough—Guildwood), McTeague, Ménard (Hochelaga), Ménard (Marc-Aurèle-Fortin), Mendes, Minna, Mourani, Mulcair, Murphy (Moncton—Riverview—Dieppe), Murphy (Charlottetown), Murray, Nadeau, Neville, Oliphant, Ouellet, Pacetti, Paillé, Paquette, Patry, Pearson, Plamondon, Pomerleau, Proulx, Rae, Rafferty, Ratansi, Regan, Rodriguez, Rota, Roy, Russell, Savoie, Scarpaleggia, Sgro, Siksay, Silva, Simson, Szabo, Thibeault, Tonks, Trudeau, Valeriote, Vincent, Volpe, Wasylycia-Leis, Wilfert, Wrzesnewskyj, Zarac

Second Reading, April 1, 2009

Abbott, Ablonczy, Albrecht, Allison, Ambrose, Anders, Anderson, Ashfield, Baird, Benoit, Bernier, Bezan, Blackburn, Blaney, Block, Boucher, Boughen, Braid, Breitkreuz, Brown (Leeds—Grenville), Brown (Newmarket—Aurora), Brown (Barrie), Bruinooge, Cadman, Calandra, Cannan (Kelowna—Lake Country), Carrie, Casson, Chong, Clarke, Clement, Cummins, Davidson, Day, Dechert, Del Mastro, Devolin, Dreeshen, Duncan (Vancouver Island North), Dykstra, Fast, Fletcher, Galipeau, Gallant, Glover, Goldring, Goodyear, Gourde, Grewal, Guergis, Harris (Cariboo—Prince George), Hawn, Hiebert, Hill, Hoback, Hoeppner, Holder, Jean, Keddy (South Shore—St. Margaret’s), Kenney (Calgary Southeast), Kent, Komarnicki, Kramp (Prince Edward—Hastings), Lake, Lauzon, Lebel, Lemieux, Lobb, Lukiwski, Lunney, MacKay (Central Nova), MacKenzie, Mayes, McColeman, McLeod, Menzies, Merrifield, Miller, Moore (Port Moody—Westwood—Port Coquitlam), Moore (Fundy Royal), Nicholson, Norlock, O’Connor, O’Neill-Gordon, Obhrai, Oda, Paradis, Payne, Petit, Poilievre, Prentice, Preston, Raitt, Rajotte, Rathgeber, Reid, Richards, Rickford, Ritz, Saxton, Scheer, Schellenberger, Shea, Shipley, Shory, Smith, Sorenson, Stanton, Storseth, Sweet, Thompson, Tilson, Toews, Trost, Tweed, Uppal, Van Kesteren, Van Loan, Vellacott, Verner, Wallace, Warawa, Warkentin, Watson, Wong, Woodworth, Yelich, Young

Email Addresses for all Canadian MPs:

GROUP 1:,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

GROUP 2:,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, O’,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,


~ by Cory Morningstar on October 4, 2009.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: